Blind River Beavers Elliot Lake Red Wings Espanola Paper Kings French River Rapids Greater Sudbury Cubs Hearst Lumberjacks Iroquois Falls Storm Kirkland Lake Gold Miners Powassan Voodoos Soo Eagles Soo Thunderbirds Timmins Rock | Hockey Canada Canadian Junior Hockey League Northern Ontario Hockey Association

GALLERY: Lumberjacks advance to NOJHL Final after sweeping Voodoos

POWASSAN, Ont. – A Max Griffioen marker 9:18 into the third period proved to be the decider as the surging Hearst Lumberjacks went on to defeat the Powassan Voodoos 3-1 Thursday evening in Game 4 of their Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League East Division Final at the Powassan Sportsplex.

With the win, the Lumberjacks take the best-of-seven East Division Final in four straight and will now move on to their first-ever NOJHL championship series against either the Soo Thunderbirds or Rayside-Balfour Canadians.

An early man advantage helped Powassan pot the night’s opening tally as Tomas Yachmenev neatly deflected a shot from the right point by Voodoos’ captain Eric Allair.

Hearst drew level with a man advantage marker of their own at 15:12 of the second stanza as Griffioen teed one up for Alec Johnson at the point, who promptly one-timed a blast past Powassan goaltender Joe Vrbetic who was screened in front.

It was more Lumberjacks midway through the third as a long breakout play off a faceoff win deep in their own zone saw Griffioen get past a Powassan defender, which allowed him to dart in and raise a backhander over Vrbetic.

Hearst then sealed the series-clinching decision in the final minute as Bradley Golant won a race for a loose puck and put one into an empty net at 19:19.

Nicholas Tallarico made 35 saves for Lumberjacks, who won their seventh straight playoff contest.

Vrbetic finished with 25 stops in the season-ending setback for Powassan.

NOJHL East Division semifinal
Hearst Lumberjacks vs. Powassan Voodoos
Lumberjacks win best-of-seven series 4-0
Game 1: Hearst 4 Powassan 3 (OT)
Game 2: Hearst 4 Powassan 3 (OT)
Game 3: Hearst 5 Powassan 2
Game 4: Hearst 3 Powassan 1